Minister

Registration of Ordination Certificate


Minnesota Statute 517.05 requires that persons who are ordained to perform marriage ceremonies, both Minnesota residents and non-residents, must be 21 years of age (MS 517.04) and register their certificate of ordination or license of ministry before performing a marriage ceremony in Minnesota. Once the certificate is registered, marriages may be performed anywhere in the state. There is no expiration date on this registration.


How to Obtain


A certificate of ordination or license of ministry may be registered in person at the Crow Wing County Land Services customer service desk, or send the certificate by mail or fax, along with the completed certificate of filing form.

Required Forms


  • The certificate of ordination or license of ministry
  • The completed certificate of filing form
  • $10 filing fee; check or money order made payable to Crow Wing County Auditor-Treasurer